Sunday, May 10, 2015

Dealing with Jacqui Briggs

So I still haven’t heard anything about my credit card dispute. My gut feeling is that I’ll wind up still having to pay for the PC version, which I’ll never use again.

I’m continuing to play as Jacqui Briggs as my main, especially when I’m matched up against stronger players. But I also feel like Kotal Kahn now, is my secondary character. I like to bust him out when I’m paired against a much weaker player, and looking for a bit of a change.

Just the other day, for the first time, someone I know in RL messaged me for a game on the PlayStation network. I actually left the game I was playing to play with him. It was the first time I’ve played MKX with someone I know, and not just a random ladder game.

For what it’s worth, this friend of mine doesn’t usually play ladder games. He told me he likes to play the Towers, which I guess is just against the AI of the computer. I guess it’s just a personal difference of opinion. But I am curious to know about all of you out there. Do you keep it vs the PC, or do you prefer to play against humans?

I made a promise to myself, long ago, that I would no longer take part in contests of skill against computers. It simply doesn’t interest me. I think it was being annoyed at a game of Mario Kart that made me feel that way. Because I knew I was racing as good as I could, and that the computer was cheating. That’s why I only play against humans, anyway.

For this reason, I wouldn’t mind beating the game, but I’d probably just watch the cutscenes on youtube instead.

I now routinely get matched against players in the high fifties and even in the sixties. These players are always way better than I am, and I’m pretty much guaranteed a loss. But they do give me clues to how to play against Jacqui, which happened to me only once so far.

The most common strategy for dealing with her uzi spam is to sneak up, centimeter by centimeter. In between the shots, even if she’s spamming, you have the opportunity to walk forward a few steps. After a few volleys, you should be close enough to hit her with a special. Closing the distance also makes an armor special move work, where the same wouldn’t work if Jacqui manages to fire enough.

Of course the best way to deal with Jacqui is to select a character that can teleport. Raiden, Mileena, Kung Lao, and his son are all top choices for fighting against Jacqui. I find Ermac and Scorpion to be the most difficult.

That’s why, at the top level of MKX play, you really need to make use of the hidden cursor at the select screen. MKX is a game where there is a clear advantage if you are able to select your character in response to your opponent’s choice.

The Devs knew this, and allow you to blind pick. Which I like. But I wonder, at a tournament, is it considered cheating to look at your opponent’s hands. Because believe you me, you can read what character he’s selecting if you really want to.

For all of my experience with MKX, I have to say I think Ermac is the most OP. Because of his teleport attacks, you really can’t safely jump at him. I’m thinking he must have the easiest combos, because most every Ermac player I fight is able to do some massive, 33% combos involving that force grab of his. The range on that special move, by the way, is massive. You have to be literally all the way on the other side of the screen to zone it.

Lastly, I’m wondering who my third character should be. I’ve been leaning towards D’Vora, but I might as easily go for Erron Black.
Hit me up @maulakai

No comments:

Post a Comment