Monday, June 8, 2015

Koins and Kombat Kard

So let’s talk a little bit about coins, excuse me, Koins, and Kombat Kards. And Brutalities. Where to begin?
So it’s fairly safe to say that Kotal Kahn is my favorite character. I spend the most time with him, even though I can probably win more games with Jacqui. While I still think War God is probably his best variation, I’ve seen been on a Sun God kick, recently.
And that makes me want to do his Brutality as Sun God. It appeared to me that every variation has it’s own Brutality. I’m pretty sure I’d seen the Brutality once before. If you recall in my earlier post, I talked about how the Sun God variation has a command grab, and that the grab changes each time you use it. The first time, it’s simply a throw. The second time, it adds on an extra hit. The third time, you get the throw, the hit, and a second throw, which reverses the side that your opponent winds up on.
Well the Brutality comes during that second throw. Kotal Kahn lifts you over his head, and you get hit with his Sun Beam. For the Brutality, the beam barbeques you. It’s pretty cool. But after trying it in combat a few times, it never worked.
Then I remember what is probably my least favorite aspect of Mortal Kombat X. The Krypt. I couldn’t just *do* the Brutality. I had to unlock it first. In the Krypt. I swear, I’ll never understand what the devs were thinking when they added a FPS style element to Mortal fucking Kombat. Who the fuck wants to walk around like they’re in a FPS when they play a fighting game?
What’s worse, it’s not even an easy unlock. It’s a terribly inconvenient unlock. First I had to go to the Mortal Kombat subreddit on reddit. Then I had to find the location of the chest I needed and get there. The price of the Brutality isn’t certain, so I had to confirm that I did, indeed, need more Koins to unlock the Brutality. All that work just to find out I couldn’t afford it! (it’s also fair to say that there was more work involved, because I had to unlock the Krypt earlier)
Okay, so I don’t have enough Koins. Well how do I get more? Before, I’d been playing Mortal Kombat and getting Koins fairly regularly. But I had noticed recently that my coins weren’t going up any more.
Again, I had to turn to a third party webpage, the sub reddit, to figure it all out. I did a search for “how do I get more Koins?” The top two ways, were either to do towers, or with the decals on your Kombat Kard.
Now let me remind you that I *hate* to spend time playing against a computer. It’s pointless to me. As long as there’s internet and people who want to play, I’ll play against them before I’d ever challenge a machine.
But because the towers were the best way to get Koins, I actually ran a few. So now, see how fucked this game is that it has me doing all this shit I don’t want to do, just to do a stupid move when I play the way I want to play.
But after running a few towers, I knew there had to be a better way. I re-read the post on reddit and discovered something I’d been overlooking on the Kombat Kards. The icons and backgrounds your choose for your Kard can actually grant you XP or Koins, depending on which one you select.
This realization had me slapping my face, because it meant I had been clueless and doing it wrong for so long. You see, when the game first starts, you get Scorpion and a very generic looking MKX background. I liked to stick with that background. There’s a bit of strategy involved with that choice. Because keeping the default background makes you look like a new player. It makes you look like a newb. I always like to take any advantage I can get, and inviting your opponent to underestimate you is one of them.
Eventually, I switched my background. But to something plain that I thought was pleasing to the eye. When I made that change, little did I know that I was affecting the Koins and XP I was getting.
So I went back to the Kombat Kard and reconfigured it for a Kotal Kahn player. Now I get Koins for each win, Koins for each win as Kotal Kahn, and Koins for each faction kill. That’s kinda silly, because Brutalities are the ultimate in Mortal Kombat. They’re the combo style attacks that any player worth his salt tries to perform. But if I really want Koins, I actually need to *avoid* the Brutality, because I get more Koins if I do the faction kill. Now I understand why some players online are so eager to go for faction kills. I for one, am kinda tired of the faction kills already. But hey, Koins are Koins.
My plan for faction, is to get level 50 in my current faction, and switch, which I think is what all the cool kids are doing. Supposedly, if you level to 50 in all factions, you get a Kombat Kard modifier that really lets you rake in the Koins. We’ll see. I’m not sure I play enough to ever get 50 in all factions. I just want to see new faction kills.
But again, choice plays a factor. I can get Koins, or I can get faction XP. But not both. Which I think is kinda lame. What do I want to do? Unlock the Brutalities, or do I want to hit fifty and finally see some new faction kills.
The decisions this game puts your through are absolute garbage. Why can’t we just unlock the stupid Brutality by performing it? I mean, Sun God has another Brutality with his projectile, and I want that one as well. But that’s thousands of Koins in the future.
tl;dr Kombat Kards can give XP and Koins. MKX makes you play FPS to unlock the fighting game.

No comments:

Post a Comment